Phiction Spotlight: Redemption of Shadows

After much prompting from fellow Phans, I finally got around to reading Redemption of Shadows. Since I’d heard nothing but good things about this book from fellow Phans, I was quite excited to read it.

Redemption of Shadows: A New Tale of the Phantom of the Opera

redemptionofshadows
Purchase Redemption of Shadows in Kindle or paperback format here.

As usual, my phriends were right! This book didn’t disappoint. Not only is it beautifully written, but it’s also a refreshing change from much of the typical Phan phiction that we read.

Not Your Typical Phantom Novel

The author, Cathy M. Conway, isn’t an Erik/Christine shipper in this book. Instead, she introduces us to a new character: Caitlin. I absolutely loved Caitlin! Adored her! What can I say without giving away key plot points? I’ll say this:  despite the traumatic experiences Caitlin goes through, she’s still a strong, independent woman capable of deep love.

I also love the way the author portrayed Erik in this novel. He has the perfect balance of that mysterious power that we all find so alluring and the vulnerability that makes him human rather than monster and endears him to us so much.

This continuation of the beloved tale of the Phantom of the Opera is a believable and satisfying one to say the least. I highly encourage any Phan to give it a read. I think you’ll quickly find that it’ll become one of your all-time phavorite Phantom books.

The Author

The author of Redemption of Shadows, Cathy M. Conway, is a delight to chat with. Redemption of Shadows was her debut novel, and she was especially kind to me when I reached out to her after reading her book. (As most of you know, I simply love connecting with the authors of books that I’ve read, especially if the books were really good like this one was.)

If you want to reach out to Cathy yourself or view any of the other works she’s published, you can do so on her Amazon author profile by clicking here: Cathy M. Conway on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

